Publications

The Godbout Report: Recommendations with Laudables Objectives

March 20, 2015
Category :  Articles

The Quebec Taxation Review Committee, better known as the Godbout Commission, tabled its report  on Thursday, March 19, 2015 at 2:30 pm. The report was previously submitted to Carlos Leitão, Quebec’s Finance Minister, on February 6. In fact, employees in Quebec’s Ministry of Finance were involved in the Commission’s work. In a press release on March 19, the Minister indicated that some elements of the Godbout report will be reflected in the provincial budget to be tabled on March 26.

The report is a voluminous document that provides a relatively comprehensive analysis of the tax system. In it, the Committee proposes a ‘zero cost’ tax reform (no impact on public finances), intended to stimulate growth and savings. The purpose of this article is to identify measures that could affect businesses and individuals.

Key proposals

For corporations, tue committee recommends that :

  • The corporate income tax rate be reduced from 11.9% to 10%
  • The small business deduction be replaced by a growth premium for private corporations with paid-up capital of less than $15 million and at least five employees: on taxable income between $100,000 and $500,000, SMEs would pay a marginal rate of 4%.
  • The payroll tax rate for SMEs be reduced from 2.7% to 1.6%.
  • The fuel tax rate with respect to gasoline and diesel be increased.
  • An additional registration fee apply to vehicles whose value exceeds $50,000.
  • The rate of tax on insurance premiums be raised to 11% to harmonize it with the QST.
  • The investment tax credit be abolished completely by 2018 (let the sunset as set).
  • Budget measures be introduced to support commercialization by SMEs of R&D results.

For individuals, the committee recommends that :

  • The health contribution be abolished.
  • The income level shielded from taxation be increased from $14,281 to $18,000.
  • The income tax rate schedule be split by increasing the number of tax brackets, and that the combined Québec-federal rate be capped at 50%.
  • The Quebec Sales Tax (QST) be increased from the current 9.975% to 11%.
  • The specific tax on tobacco products and on alcoholic beverages applicable to beer be increased.
  • The increase of fees for public services: mainly that the price of electricity be raised and a new tax on overconsumption of electricity in the household sector be implemented.
  • Tax measures regarding work premiums be enhanced, including the introduction of a tax credit or other measure to act as a tax shield for families who are currently penalized for increasing their work income, with respect to certain benefits and credits.
  • A single rate of $35, indexed for reduced-contribution childcare services be established, along with an increase in the Quebec refundable tax credit for childcare expenses.
  • The solidarity tax credit be enhanced.
  • A penalty be implemented for any withdrawal of funds from an RRSP before the age of 55, except under specific circumstances, and source deductions be increased to the maximum tax rate.

The report also contains other less immediate proposals requiring more extensive analysis and, in some cases, national coordination.

Key measures where analysis or coordination is recommended

  • Introduce measures to make non-arm’s length sales of businesses eligible for the lifetime capital gains exemption, either by reaching an agreement with the federal government, or by the province intervening independently and remedying the situation solely in respect of Quebec through a tax credit or, otherwise, under specific conditions designed to prevent abuse.
  • Completely revise capital gains taxation, including 100% taxation of the gain, less an adjustment for inflation and modulation depending of the length of the holding period.
  • Abolish the preferential treatment given to stock options held by employees in public corporations.
  • Replace the lifetime capital gains exemption with an additional RRSP contribution.
  • Some questionings about the lifetime capital gains exemption for principal residences.
  • Consider replacing the taxation system with an adapted version of the Scandinavian tax model.
  • Conduct a complete overhaul of all tax measures that reduce tax revenues.
  • Rigourous oversight of provisions respecting trusts in order to limit interprovincial tax planning schemes, particularly with respect to revenues from businesses operated in Quebec but allocated as property revenue to beneficiaries residing in another province, circumvention of the concept of associated companies, opportunities for income-splitting and the multiplication of lifetime capital gains exemptions.
  • Take a concerted approach to combat loss of public revenues linked to interprovincial trade, globalization of trade, e-commerce transactions and Canadian investments in countries with favourable taxation policies such as Barbados, the Cayman Islands and Luxembourg.
  • Integrate the polluter pays principle and put in place eco-taxation measures by implementing tolls on roads and installing water meters in buildings.

To conclude, this is an insightful report on Quebec taxation that sets laudable objectives what  aims to set a very cohesive framework. Coordination with the federal government appears to be a prerequisite to full and effective implementation of the proposed measures. All in all, this reform would then have a significant impact on all taxpayers. However, regardless of the report’s recommendations, it is the current Quebec government that has the final say, and by the voice of the province’s Minister of Finance, Carlos Leitão,  tell the way forward, say which measures are to be implemented and may or may not choose to enter into talks with federal and provincial counterparts.

Do not hesitate to contact your FBL expert.

Share via email

Similar publications

Print

Publications

Le Rapport de la Commission Godbout: un ensemble de propositions avec des objectifs louables

20 mars 2015
Catégorie :  Articles

Jeudi le 19 mars 2015 à 14h30, la Commission d’examen sur la fiscalité québécoise, mieux connue comme la «Commission Godbout», a déposé son rapport. Ce rapport a été présenté le 6 février dernier au ministre des Finances du Québec Carlos Leitão. D’ailleurs, le personnel du ministère des Finances a été mis à contribution dans les travaux de la Commission. Dans un communiqué émis le 19 mars, le ministre indique que « certains éléments ont d’ailleurs inspiré des mesures qui seront présentées dans le budget »  qui sera déposé le 26 mars prochain.
 

Mais qu’en est-il de ce rapport? C’est un document touffu qui livre une analyse relativement complète du système fiscal. Il propose une réforme globale à coût zéro pour les finances de l’état, visant à stimuler la croissance et l’épargne. Le but du présent texte est d’inventorier certaines mesures qui pourraient affecter les entreprises et les particuliers.

Principales mesures proposées

Principales mesures préconisées qui affectent les entreprises

  • La baisse du taux d’imposition sur le revenu des sociétés de 11,9% à 10%.
  • Le remplacement de la déduction pour petites entreprises par une prime à la croissance pour les entreprises ayant moins de 15 millions de dollars de capital et au moins cinq employés : entre 100 000$ et 500 000$ de revenu imposable, les PME auraient un taux marginal de 4%.
  • La baisse du taux de la taxe sur la masse salariale de 2,7% à 1,6% pour les PME.
  • L’augmentation de la taxe sur les carburants à l’égard de l’essence et du diesel.
  • L’augmentation du droit d’immatriculation additionnel des véhicules dont la valeur excède 50 000$.
  • L’augmentation de la taxe sur les primes d’assurance à 11% afin de l’uniformiser à la TVQ.
  • La non-reconduction du crédit d’impôt à l’investissement qui doit expirer en 2018.
  • La mise en place de mesures budgétaires afin de soutenir la commercialisation des résultats de la recherche et du développement pour les PME.

Principales mesures préconisées qui affectent les particuliers

  • L’élimination de la contribution santé.
  • La majoration du niveau de revenus sans impôt : 18 000$ au lieu de  14 281$.
  • Le fractionnement du barème d’imposition, en augmentant le nombre de paliers tout en plafonnant le taux combiné avec le taux fédéral à 50%.
  • L’augmentation du taux de la taxe de vente du Québec  actuellement à 9,975% à 11%.
  • Augmentation du taux de la taxe spécifique sur les produits du tabac et de la taxe sur les boissons alcooliques pour la bière.
  • L’augmentation des tarifs : surtout ceux de l’électricité et instauration d’une taxe à la surconsommation d’électricité dans le secteur domestique.
  • La bonification des mesures fiscales accordant une prime au travail, y compris l’ajout d’un crédit ou une autre mesure servant de bouclier fiscal pour les familles augmentant leurs revenus pour limiter les pénalités inhérentes à cette augmentation eu égard à certaines prestations et crédits.
  • La mise en place d’un tarif unique de 35$ indexé pour les services de garde «à contribution réduite» accompagné d’une bonification du crédit d’impôt remboursable pour frais de garde du Québec pour ces frais.
  • La bonification du crédit d’impôt pour la solidarité.
  • La mise en place d’une pénalité pour un retrait de REER avant l’âge de 55 ans, sauf exceptions, et des retenues à la source égales au taux d’imposition maximal.

D’autres propositions moins immédiates et impliquant une analyse plus approfondie et dans certains cas une concertation pancanadienne sont formulées.

Principales mesures dont l'analyse ou la concertation est proposée

 

  • La mise en place de mesures pour rendre admissible à l’exonération cumulative des gains en capital les transferts d’entreprise avec lien de dépendance, soit avec une concertation fédérale, soit en intervenant indépendamment en corrigeant la situation à l’égard de l’impôt du Québec seulement au moyen d’un crédit d’impôt ou autrement sous des conditions précises afin d’éviter les abus.
  • La révision complète de l’imposition des gains en capital, incluant une imposition de 100% du gain, moins un ajustement pour l’inflation et sa modulation selon la durée de détention.
  • L’abolition du traitement préférentiel accordé aux options d’achat d’actions accordées aux employés de sociétés publiques.
  • Le remplacement de l’exonération cumulative du gain en capital par une contribution REER additionnelle.
  • Une certaine remise en question de l’exonération de gain en capital pour résidence principale.
  • L’analyse de la possibilité de remplacer le système d’imposition par une adaptation du modèle scandinave.
  • Une révision en profondeur de toutes les mesures fiscales réduisant les revenus fiscaux.
  • Un encadrement rigoureux des dispositions concernant les fiducies afin de limiter les planifications interprovinciales, notamment concernant les revenus provenant d’entreprises exploitées au Québec mais attribués à titre de revenus de biens aux bénéficiaires résidents d’une autre province et le contournement des règles de sociétés associées, les possibilités de fractionnement de revenus et la multiplication de l’exonération cumulative des gains en capital.
  • Une intervention concertée pour contrer les pertes de revenus de l’état liées au commerce interprovincial, à la mondialisation des échanges, les transactions liées au commerce électronique et les placements canadiens dans les états à la fiscalité favorable, tels que la Barbade, les îles Caïmans et le Luxembourg.
  • Une intégration du principe du pollueur-payeur et de mettre en place des mesures écofiscales, notamment par l’installation de péage sur les routes et de compteurs d’eau aux immeubles.

Pour conclure, nous pouvons dire qu’il s’agit d’un rapport éclairant sur la fiscalité québécoise, ayant des objectifs louables, présenté comme un tout qui se veut cohérent. La concertation avec le gouvernement fédéral nous semble toutefois essentielle à sa mise en place efficace et complète. Dans un tel cas, cette réforme serait de nature à affecter significativement tous les contribuables. Toutefois, peu importe ce que le rapport préconise, le dernier mot appartient au gouvernement québécois actuel, qui par la voix de son ministre des Finances, Carlos Leitão, indiquera l’approche et les mesures retenues et qui pourra ou non choisir d’entamer des pourparlers avec ses homologues fédéraux et provinciaux.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec votre expert FBL.

Partager par courriel

Publications similaires

Imprimer